This guide is aimed at providing a starting point for research in a variety of subject areas related to American Studies, including literature, history, politics, culture, society and more. It covers print and online sources as well as supplemental information to aid your research. This guide is a great place to start, but American Studies is a rich and complex field making it difficult to represent the breadth of information available to researchers in just a single guide.
All resources can be accessed from off-campus via the library's website (see more here). When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your AUCA login and password.
Key e-Book Databases:
Collection of more than 40 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including book titles in American Studies.
Browse e-books in American Studies
Browse e-books in American Studies
DOAB provides open access to over 1603 academic peer-reviewed books from 54 publishers.
Browse e-books in American studies
Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the world’s largest online resource of documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
EBSCO
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR
Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences valuable for academic work.
Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis journals encompasses over 1,600 titles. Its content spans all areas of humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is one of the largest international full text resources of legal and business information. It contains more than 35,000 documents which include federal and state case law, law reviews, legal information of USA, EU etc., financial and marketing reports about companies all over the world, analytical researches on countries and regions, industry and market news, etc.
SAGE Journals
The SAGE Premier Journals Collection contains more than 800 titles of leading international peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, technology and medicine.
ElgarOnline includes 292 book titles in Development studies and journal titles on Review of Keynesian Economics, Queen Mary Journal of Intellectual Property, Leadership and the Humanities, Journal of Human Rights and the Environment and European Journal of Economics and Economic Policies: Intervention.
The key to being a savvy online searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines. The techniques described in this section will enable you to quickly retrieve relevant information from the thousands of records in a database.
AUCA community now has full access to the articles, breaking news, blogs, multimedia and more from The New York Times.
To activate your Pass, please follow these steps:
- Visit nytimes.com/passes
- Create a free NYTimes.com account using your AUCA email address
- Check your email inbox and click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your pass.
AskhatbekovaReference and Instruction Specialist
Tel: 915000 (ext. 301)
American cultural studies an introduction to American culture
1,001 things everyone should know about American history
Call and response : key debates in African American studies
Give me liberty! : an American history
American art history and culture
Can governments learn? American foreign policy and Central American revolutions
Points of view : readings in American government and politics 
The femminization of American culture