Journalism & Mass Communication
 Image result for journalism and mass communications
Liaison Librarian

Aigerim Kurmanalieva
Electronic Services Assistant
Tel. 915-000 (304)
Printed books on Mass Communications

Description

Welcome to research guide for Journalism and Mass Communications!
This research guide would be helpful for AUCA students, staff, and faculty to find both printed and electronic books, links to databases recommended for your modules, articles, e-journals and more. It also provides quick access to library resources according to your discipline. For Reference come to Research Help Desk in room 330 / Phone: ext. 304
 

How to search for e-resources

To look for eResource on your topic, enter in your search terms in either the search engine "ALL".


Once you receive your results list, refine your search by selecting limiters by its Publication Date, Material Type (books or journals), Subject,Language and other limiters on the left-hand toolbar of the website. The system gives you more then 16 mln results.

                          

Choose Full Text option, it allows you to download material in full text PDF format. Use the "Publication Date limiter" in case you need a current information. Choose type of the source, forexample: "eBook" and the system will upload search result from 16 mln to 84,679.

                     


Database search tips

Have a look at our research tips listed below to find materials you need
By following these tips, you can turn your research topic into several effective search strategies. Trying different combinations of search terms will help ensure you find wide range of materials on a particular topic.

Where to begin:

1.  Once you have thought about the topics and issues you will be researching, create a list of KEYWORDS that best describe your subject and your approach to the subject (specific themes to be studied, theoretical approaches, etc).

  • Tip: Include synonyms to account for variations in terminology. You should also account for variations in language, spelling (color, colour), tense, etc. Antonyms are also occasionally helpful.

Examples :
Advocacy journalism, Accuracy, Truthfulness, News writing style, Ethic Objectivity, Editorial independence

Note: the above is not intended to represent a complete list of possible terms.

2.  Use main words only ignoring articles, prepositions, or conjunctions as well as punctuation and capitalization

3. Using the above Keywords, create a variety of search strategies.

Words and Phrases may be combined using AND, OR, & NOT (i.e. Boolean operators).

Examples:

4. The " * " is a truncation symbol.

Example: "journalis*" finds journalism and journalistic etc.

5. Use wildcard to replace letters from inside the word analy?e - this is useful for including British and American spellings - analyze and analyse, wom?n - your search will include woman and women.


6. Use quotation marks to connect the words together as exact phrase.

“media law” - your search will include “…media law…”not “media … entertainment law”.




Use 
A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.


EBRARY
 Restricted Resource Some full text available 

Collection of more than 22,658 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including e-book titles in journalistics.

EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available 
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study. eBooks - more than 23,899 titles in journalistics.
Browse e-books on journalism
 

BookBoon Unrestricted Resource Some full text available 
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world, journal articles and cover topics such as journalistics, practical PR, writing for the press, fundamental of communication and leadership. 
Browse ebooks in journalistics