APPLIED MATHEMATICS AND INFORMATICS
 
This guide provides you with quick and easy access to library resources on Applied Mathematics and Informatics.
Search Help
                     

                     Search Help

Liaison Librarian
           
Irina Pak
Electronic Services Librarian

Tel: 915000 (303 ext.)
E-mail: pak_i@auca.kg
Room: 334
References
Authoritative and reliable, this A–Z reference work provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations. In addition, there are entries on major mathematicians and on topics of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos.
E-book Databases
Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.

EBRARY Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of more than 40 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including 3,527 book titles on mathematics.
Browse ebooks on mathematics

EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study. eBooks - more than 6693 titles on mathematics
Browse ebooks on mathematics

BookBoon Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.
Browse ebooks on mathematics
E-journal Databases
EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study.
The AUCA library subscribes to many databases through EBSCO. Click the first link in the EBSCO portal 'EBSCOhost Web' and you will go to a full list of the EBSCO Databases. Academic Search Premier is usually an excellent starting point for general research. Once you choose a database, a search screen will appear. The search screen allows you to search the contents of the database for information on your topic. To perform a publication search on EBSCOhost, click on the 'Publications' button on the sub-toolbar of your search screen. When searching from the Publication Search Screen choose the option 'By Subject & Description'. Type in 'mathematics' subject term and click the 'Browse' button. 

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences valuable for academic work. Cointains 78 titles on mathematics.
 
Oxford Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Journals Collection includes more than 240 full-text journals on humanity, social, natural, technical sciences and law.

DOAJ Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) contains fulltext, open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system to guarantee the content.
Browse journals on mathematics
Books of possible interest to Mathematics
Applied Finite Mathematics
Applied Finite Mathematics covers topics including linear equations, matrices, linear programming, the mathematics of finance, sets and counting, probability, Markov chains, and game theory. 

Rosser, Mik. Basic Mathematics for Economists (1993)
The author provides a gentle introduction, concentrating on revision of arithmetical and algebraic methods that students have probably learned but forgotten. Here, as throughout the book, the information is set out, where possible, in the context of applications in economics.

Karris, Steven T. (Editor). Mathematics for Business, Science, and Technology (3rd Edition, 2007)

This text is written for a high school graduates preparing to take business or science courses at community colleges or universities; working professionals who feel that they need a math review from the very beginning; young students and working professionals who are enrolled in continued education institutions, and majoring in business related topics, such as business administration and accounting, and those pursuing a career in science, electronics, and computer technology. 
Courses
Calculus with Applications
This is an undergraduate course on differential calculus in one and several dimensions. It is intended as a one and a half term course in calculus for students who have studied calculus in high school. The format allows it to be entirely self contained, so that it is possible to follow it without any background in calculus.

Linear Algebra
This course covers matrix theory and linear algebra, emphasizing topics useful in other disciplines such as physics, economics and social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering.

Principles of Applied Mathematics
This course is about mathematical analysis of continuum models of various natural phenomena. Such models are generally described by partial differential equations (PDE) and for this reason much of the course is devoted to the analysis of PDE. Examples of applications come from physics, chemistry, biology, complex systems: traffic flows, shock waves, hydraulic jumps, bio-fluid flows, chemical reactions, diffusion, heat transfer, population dynamics, and pattern formation.

Single Variable Calculus

This calculus course covers differentiation and integration of functions of one variable, and concludes with a brief discussion of infinite series. Calculus is fundamental to many scientific disciplines including physics, engineering, and economics.