Sociology
DESCRIPTION

Welcome to the Sociology Research Guide. This guide is designed as a jumping-off point for your research in the field of sociology.

AUCA Library acquires an extensive collection of e-books and other eResources made available through the library catalogue.  

Library has access to eResources from a variety of providers, and accessing e-books according to each provider can differ in terms of features, functionalities, technicalities, and restrictions.
EResources

This guide was created to help the students, staff, and faculty at AUCA access its growing collection of eResources and to make use of the various features and functions they offer.  Despite the minor differences across e-book providers, e-books are a valuable resource for student life!

The easiest way to find e-books is through the Library Catalogue.  When looking for eResource on your topic, enter in your search terms in either the search box "All" and click Search or you can use advanced search.  Once you receive your results list, refine your search by selecting Publication Date, Material Type (e.g. books, journals), Subject, Language, etc. under the Format limiter (found in the left-hand toolbar).


 

E-book databases
  Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
 
Key e-Book Databases:

EBRARY

Collection of more than 40 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including 1033 book titles in Sociology.

Browse e-books in Sociology


 EBSCO

Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study. eBooks - more than 122 titles in Sociology.
Browse e-books in Sociology  

Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. During trial you can access to the first 10% of the dissertation (up to 24 pages) according to Author’s agreements. Trial active through December 17, 2016

Journal and Article Databases
 Use Browse By Dicipline to access information about specific e-journal titles available through the AUCA Library.

Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
 
Key Journal Article Databases:


CIAO Restricted Resource Some full text available 
Books, journals, protocols of conferences, political briefs, atlases, maps, original case studies written by leading international affairs experts.


EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available 
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study.

       JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available 
      Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities,             social sciences valuable for academic work.



LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available 
It contains more than 35,000 documents which include federal and state case law, law reviews, legal information of USA, EU etc., financial and marketing reports about companies all over the world, analytical researches on countries and regions, industry and market news, etc.

Taylor & Francis Online Restricted Resource Some full text available 
Taylor & Francis journals encompasses over 1,600 titles. Its content spans all areas of humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.


Image result for Emerald eJournals Premier

Emerald e-Journals Premier is a cross-disciplinary journal database which provide access to high quality, peer reviewed international content of 305 e-journals.


Database Search Tips

There is a link where are some search tips to help you find useful materials in the databases.

By following these tips, you can turn your research topic into several effective search strategies. Trying different combinations of search terms will help ensure you find a comprehensive range of materials on a particular topic.

 

How to find research resources 

 

Liaison librarian
 Zhanylai Keldibekova

User Service Assistent

Tel. 915 000 (ext. 305)
Books of interest

Human arrangements an introduction to sociology by Johnson, Allan G.



 The sociology of economic life

 edited by Mark Granovetter and Richard Swedberg
 
 

The handbook of economic sociology

by Neil J. Smelser and Richard Swedberg, editors

 
 

Socialism, capitalism, transformation

by Balcerowicz, Leszek.





The New Sociological Imagination (e-book)

by Steve Fuller




An Introduction to the Sociology of Religion : Classical and Contemporary Perspectives (e-book)
by Furseth, Inger
Repstad, Pål

e-Journals of interest

American Journal of Sociology
Established in 1895 as the first U.S. scholarly journal in its field, American Journal of Sociology remains a leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. The journal presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods.

Acta Sociologica
Acta Sociologica publishes papers on high-quality innovative sociology, carried out from different theoretical and methodological starting points, in the form of full-length original articles and review essays, as well as book reviews and commentaries. Articles that present Nordic sociology or help mediate between Nordic and international scholarly discussions are encouraged.

American Sociological Review
The official flagship journal of the American Sociological Association (ASA), American Sociological Review (ASR) publishes works of interest to the discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. All areas of sociology are welcome. Emphasis is on exceptional quality and general interest.


Gender & Society
Gender & Society is abstracted and indexed in over 70 databases including Scopus and the Social Sciences Citation Index. According to the Journal Citation Reports, the journal has a 2014 impact factor of 1.956, ranking it 3rd out of 41 journals in the category "Women's Studies"


Sociological Forum
The journal covers all areas of sociology and related fields, emphasizing innovative direction in sociological research.