This guide is aimed at providing a starting point for research in a variety of subject areas related to American Studies, including literature, history, politics, culture, society and more. It covers print and online sources as well as supplemental information to aid your research.
All resources can be accessed from off-campus via the library's website (see more here). When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your AUCA login and password.
All resources can be accessed from off-campus via the library's website (see more here). When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your AUCA login and password.
To search for journal articles or eBooks use the "All" search box on the Library's website https://library.auca.kg/ (on the top of the page)
1. Select "All" search field and enter your search terms, then click ‘Search’; this search box will search articles available in EBSCO, JSTOR and LexisNexis, etc. as well as e-books from EBSCO.
2. The options on the left menu allow you to limit your search by Publication Date, Material Type (e.g. books, journals), Subject,Language, etc.
3. To specify the search results, use Advanced Search option to define a more complex set of search criteria. Advanced Search allows you to search by Title, Author, Subject, Abstract, Text, etc.
Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
Key e-Book Databases:
Collection of more than 40 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including book titles in European Studies.
Browse e-books in European Studies
Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences valuable for academic work.
Browse e-books in European Studies
Key e-Book Databases:
Collection of more than 40 000 full-text books, textbooks and other authoritative content from the world's leading publishers including book titles in European Studies.
Browse e-books in European Studies
Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences valuable for academic work.
Browse e-books in European Studies
Use A-Z Journal List to access information about specific e-journal titles available through the AUCA Library.
Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
Use A-Z Database List to access specific databases available at the AUCA Library.
Key Journal Article Databases:
Books, journals, protocols of conferences, political briefs, atlases, maps, original case studies written by leading international affairs experts.
Access to the full-text collection of peer-reviewed academic journals with the highest rating in nearly every area of academic study.
Over 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences valuable for academic work.
Taylor & Francis journals encompasses over 1,600 titles. Its content spans all areas of humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
The Duke Journals Scholarly Collection provide online access to 44 titles of Duke University Press journals in the Humanities and social sciences.
The Intellect Journals Collection offers full back-issue access to 99 journals in its expanding portfolio focusing on the arts, culture, communication and media.
The Sage Premier Journals Collection contains more than 800 titles of leading peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social sciences.
ElgarOnline includes 292 book titles in Development studies and journal titles on Review of Keynesian Economics, Queen Mary Journal of Intellectual Property, Leadership and the Humanities, Journal of Human Rights and the Environment and European Journal of Economics and Economic Policies: Intervention.
East European Politics and Societies (EEPS) is an international, interdisciplinary journal for the examination of critical issues related to Eastern Europe. It serves as a forum for current work in East Europe studies, including comparative analyses and theoretical issues with implications for other world areas.
Zhuzumkan AskhatbekovaReference and Instruction Specialist
Tel: 915000 (ext. 301)
Books available in AUCA library catalog
Europe reborn a history, 1914-2000
Guide to the European Union
The European Union, civil society, and conflict
A history of European Art: Course guidebook
The history of the origins of representative government in Europe
Europe a cultural history
A history of the European economy, 1000-2000
The Oxford history of medieval Europe
War, peace, and power diplomatic history of Europe, 1500-2000
Migration in European history
A history of their own : women in Europe from prehistory to the present
Europe reborn a history, 1914-2000Guide to the European UnionThe European Union, civil society, and conflictA history of European Art: Course guidebookThe history of the origins of representative government in EuropeEurope a cultural historyA history of the European economy, 1000-2000The Oxford history of medieval EuropeWar, peace, and power diplomatic history of Europe, 1500-2000Migration in European historyA history of their own : women in Europe from prehistory to the present
Some useful websites related to the European Union.
Official website of the European Union
The European Union's Open Data Portal
Official website of the European Union
The European Union's Open Data Portal
The key to being a savvy online searcher is to use common search techniques that you can apply to almost any database, including article databases, online catalogs and even commercial search engines. The techniques described in this section will enable you to quickly retrieve relevant information from the thousands of records in a database.